Marie-Stéphanie Servos

 

Journalist and editor

Founder of the media Women of art

Art critic

 

 

To be a body   

(April 2020)

 

 

 

 

Virginie Hucher is a multidisciplinary artist who evolves between drawing, painting, photography and ceramics. Originally from Paris, she moved to Picardy in 2010 in a house-workshop where she lives and works. A graduate in plastic and applied arts, she trained in various recognized workshops and gradually developed a mainly abstract approach to painting.

 

Pablo Picasso asked: “In every child, there is an artist. The problem is how to stay an artist while growing up ”. Virginie Hucher has found the answer to what seems to be an enigma. It is through dance, a practice to which she was initiated very early by her mother, that the artist lifts the veil on her artistic sensitivity. Captivated, she then discovers the movement of bodies and their relationship to the world, a theme that is still dear to her today.

 

Because this is what it is all about in Virginie Hucher's work: being one body. For her, creation is a natural, almost intrinsic act. The artist is one with his work, and vice versa. A unity is then created, defined as “what is one, as opposed to Plurality. The unity of God. (...) The unity of the self. Unity of feelings. ” (1) Consequently, we no longer distinguish the artist from his work, and we can only define them together, in relation to each other.

 

To make body is also to make with the body, central element of each of Virginie Hucher's creations. If it is not figured, the body is in any case used as a tool in the realization of a life-size preliminary drawing. The body is choreographed. Most of the time, she performs her ephemeral figures on living supports, such as water, snow or earth. As a return to organic elements, which we find in filigree in his paintings composed of blue, yellow, green or ocher, which are reminiscent of water, sky, sun, nature or earth.

 

We therefore understand that the artist wants to become one with nature, in a search for unity, true osmosis, symbiosis. “The artist should not copy nature but take the elements of nature and create a new element” said Paul Gauguin (2). If nature is not directly visible in her paintings, Virginie Hucher performs a creative process that borrows from Land art. Nature is abstract in its representation, but it is in the heart of it that the artist begins each of his creations. To respond to the ephemerality of her drawings on living supports, which are destined to disappear, Virginie Hucher photographs, rigorously films each of her performances. Essential witnesses to the continuation of his creative process. Then comes real investigative work, in her “laboratory”, as she likes to call her workshop. The artist unearths: travel photographs, quotes, layers, drawings ... Almost in the manner of an archaeologist who discovers with a new eye vestiges of the past, which another eye has already experienced ... The walls of his studio are covered, only a large white band remains, space necessary to project the video of his performance. This step allows him to better appropriate the gestures before finally starting to paint. There, Virginie Hucher deploys her finely selected colors on canvas frames, large paper or tracing paper.

 

Always as a body, when she does not paint using brushes or objects found in nature, Virginie Hucher uses her hand, her forearm. Like the child, in an instinctive approach, almost primitive although applied, that which Picasso evokes the loss, once the child becomes adult. As for her painting, Virginie Hucher uses oil and acrylic. The first for what it uses a natural element, water. The second, to fill, surround, control the full.

 

If we stop at his creations, everything can now light up. The duality of colors, selected with care evokes the day, the night, the autumn, the summer. Anyone who observes his works, can feel a ray of sun brushing his face, or the smell of the forests at the end of autumn, shortly before winter wears its way. “As a rule, color is therefore a means of exercising a direct influence on the soul. Color is the key. The eye is the hammer. The soul is the piano with numerous strings. The artist is the hand which, by the proper use of this or that touch, sets the human soul in vibration. It is therefore clear that the harmony of colors must be based solely on the principle of effective contact with the human soul. ” (3) wrote the founding father of abstraction, Kandinsky.

 

Also, Virginie Hucher ceramics seem to be an integral part of this nature. This is the case with “Botanica”, a series of several small ceramics with a vegetable and organic aesthetic. One would almost believe to have already crossed these forms in situ.

This is less the case with this astonishing figure of a man with four faces, entitled “The call of the forest”. Arranged upstream of a clearing, open mouths, these four figures almost seem to warn us, but what? From the coming danger? Or perhaps, like the Guardian of Gloria Friedmann, are these figures the protectors of the forest, precious sanctuary, gift of nature? Like Friedmann in any case, committed, environmental activist, Virginie Hucher makes the protection of life on earth a commitment, an approach, both personal and artistic. She implements it daily through her work, but also in her lifestyle.

 

Didn't Mark Rothko say: "Art is communicating something about the world". What if it were even more true today, at a time of an environmental crisis in which the artist can and must take its place to prevent the evils that threaten us?

 

 

 

 

 

1) Definition of the French Academy.

2) “Oviri, writings of a savage” - Paul Gauguin, chosen and presented by Daniel Guérin. (Gallimard, 1974).

3) In “Spiritual in art and in painting in particular” (1911).

 

NEWSLETTER

CONTACT

  • Blanc Icône Instagram

MARIE-STEPHANIE SERVOS

Journaliste

Fondatrice du média Femmes d' art

Critique d'art 

Faire corps, avril 2020

 

 

Virginie Hucher est une artiste pluri-disciplinaire qui évolue entre le dessin, la peinture, la photographie et la céramique. Originaire de Paris, elle s'établit en 2010 en Picardie dans une maison-atelier où elle vit et travaille. Diplômée d’arts plastiques et d’arts appliqués, elle se forme dans divers ateliers reconnus et développe progressivement une approche majoritairement abstraite de la peinture.

Pablo Picasso interrogeait : “Dans chaque enfant, il y a un artiste. Le problème est de savoir comment rester un artiste en grandissant”. À ce qui semble être une énigme, Virginie Hucher a trouvé sa réponse. C’est à travers la danse, pratique à laquelle elle a été initiée très tôt par sa mère, que l’artiste lève le voile sur sa sensibilité artistique. Envoûtée, elle découvre alors le mouvement des corps et leur rapport au monde, thème qui lui est toujours cher aujourd’hui.

Car c’est ce dont il s’agit dans l’oeuvre de Virginie Hucher : faire corps. Pour elle, la création est un acte naturel, presque intrinsèque. L’artiste fait corps avec son oeuvre, et vice versa . Se crée alors une unité, définit comme “ ce qui est un, par opposition à Pluralité.L’unité de Dieu. (...) L’unité du moi. Unité de sentiments.” (1) Dès lors, on ne distingue plus l’artiste de son oeuvre, et on ne peut les définir qu’ensemble, en rapport l’un à l’autre.

Faire corps, c’est aussi faire avec le corps, élément central de chacune des créations de Virginie Hucher. S’il n’est pas figuré, le corps est en tout cas utilisé comme outil dans la réalisation d’un dessin préalable grandeur nature. Le corps est chorégraphié. La plupart du temps, elle exécute ses éphémères figures sur des supports vivants, comme l’eau, la neige ou encore la terre. Comme un retour à des éléments organiques, que l’on retrouve en filigrane dans ses peintures composées de bleu, jaune, vert ou ocre, qui ne sont pas sans rappeler l’eau, le ciel, le soleil, la nature ou la terre.

L’on comprend donc que l’artiste veut faire corps avec la nature, dans une recherche d’unité, d’osmose véritable, de symbiose. “L’artiste ne doit pas copier la nature mais prendre les éléments de la nature et créer un nouvel élément” disait Paul Gauguin (2). Si la nature n’est pas directement visible dans ses peintures, Virginie Hucher exécute un processus créatif qui emprunte au Land art. La nature est abstraite dans sa représentation, mais c’est bien au coeur d’elle-même que l’artiste débute chacune de ses créations. Pour répondre à l’éphémérité de ses dessins sur supports vivants, qui ont vocation à disparaître, Virginie Hucher photographie, filme rigoureusement chacune de ses performances. Des témoins essentiels à la poursuite de son processus créatif. Puis vient un véritable travail d’enquête, dans son “laboratoire”, comme elle aime à appeler son atelier. L’artiste exhume : photographies de voyages, citations, calques, dessins... Presque à la manière de l’archéologue qui découvre avec un oeil nouveau des vestiges du passé, qu’un autre oeil a déjà éprouvé... Les murs de son atelier sont recouvert, seule reste une large bande blanche, espace nécessaire pour projeter la vidéo de sa performance. Cette étape lui permet de mieux s’approprier les gestes avant d’enfin, se mettre à peindre. Là, Virginie Hucher déploie ses couleurs, finement sélectionnées, sur des châssis entoilés, de grands papiers ou des calques.

Toujours pour faire corps, quand elle ne peint pas à l’aide de pinceaux ou d’objets trouvés dans la nature, Virginie Hucher utilise sa main, son avant-bras. À la manière de l’enfant, dans une approche instinctive, presque primitive bien qu’appliquée, celle dont Picasso évoque la perte, une fois l’enfant devenu adulte. Quant à sa peinture, Virginie Hucher utilise l’huile et l’acrylique. Le premier pour ce qu’il emploie un élément naturel, l’eau. Le second, pour remplir, cerner, contrôler le plein.

Si l’on s’arrête sur ses créations, tout désormais peut s’éclairer. La dualité des couleurs, sélectionnées avec soin évoque le jour, la nuit, l’automne, l’été. Quiconque observe ses oeuvres, peut sentir un rayon de soleil frôler son visage, ou l’odeur des forêts à la fin de l’automne, peu avant que l’hiver ne se faufile. “En règle générale, la couleur est donc un moyen d’exercer une influence directe sur l’âme. La couleur est la touche. L’oeil est le marteau. L’âme est le piano aux cordes nombreuses. L’artiste est la main qui, par l’usage convenable de telle ou telle touche, met l’âme humaine en vibration. Il est donc clair que l’harmonie des couleurs doit reposer uniquement sur le principe de l’entrée en contact efficace avec l’âme humaine.” (3) écrivait le père-fondateur de l’abstraction, Kandinsky.

Aussi, les céramiques de Virginie Hucher semblent-elles faire partie intégrante de cette nature. C’est le cas de “Botanica”, une série de plusieurs petites céramiques à l’esthétique végétale et organique. On croirait presque avoir déjà croisé ces formes in situ .

C’est moins le cas de cette étonnante figure d’homme aux quatre visages, intitulée “L’appel de la forêt”. Disposées en amont d’une clairière, bouches ouvertes, ces quatre figures semblent presque nous prévenir, mais de quoi ? Du danger qui vient ? Ou peut-être, à l’instar du Gardien de Gloria Friedmann, ces figures sont-elles les protectrices de la forêt, sanctuaire précieux, don de la nature ? À l’instar de Friedmann en tout cas, engagée, militante pour l’environnement, Virginie Hucher fait de la protection de la vie sur terre un engagement, une démarche, tant personnelle qu’artistique. Elle la met en oeuvre au quotidien au travers de son travail, mais aussi dans son mode de vie.

Mark Rothko ne disait-il pas : “L’art, c’est communiquer quelque chose à propos du monde”. Et si c’était encore plus vrai, aujourd’hui, à l’heure d’une crise environnementale dans laquelle l’artiste peut et doit prendre toute sa place pour prévenir des maux qui nous menacent ?

1) Définition de l’Académie Française.

2) “Oviri, écrits d'un sauvage” - Paul Gauguin, choisis et présentés par Daniel Guérin. (Gallimard, 1974).

3) Dans “Du spirituel dans l’art et dans la peinture en particulier” (1911).

NEWSLETTER

CONTACT

  • Blanc Icône Instagram